Local, state and federal laws change all the time. Sometimes, new laws overrule old ones, while other times, existing statutes receive minor adjustments. There are several new laws taking effect in 2019 that directly impact Michigan residents.
Among the multitude of new rules include ones concerning the minimum wage, paid sick leave and spousal support. If you are currently employed, run a business and/or are getting a divorce, get the details.
Minimum wage increase
The statewide minimum wage is going up, but not by much. In March, low-wage workers will see their hourly rate bump up to $9.45 from $9.25. This is part of an ongoing increase that will eventually see the minimum hourly rate reach $12.05 per hour by 2030. Original proposals set the minimum wage to reach $12 by 2022, but that is now scrapped. Additionally, tipped workers will eventually see their wages increase to $4.58 in 2030.
Paid sick leave
Public Act 379, formerly Senate Bill 1175, makes changes to the paid sick time law in Michigan. This new law requires businesses to give employees one hour of paid sick time for every 35 hours they work. The cap is 40 hours, even though the original proposal was for the cap to be 72 hours. The new law takes effect in March.
There is a new federal tax law already in effect that turns alimony on its head. Those who receive spousal support payments no longer need to count them as part of their taxable income. Payers of alimony can no longer deduct the payments. This drastically changes divorce negotiations. Divorcing will be especially complex for those involving high-income earners or business owners.
This is just a snapshot of the numerous new laws in 2019. Other new rules concern a variety of issues, including harsher penalties for animal abuse, slowing down for stopped emergency vehicles and improvements to school safety. You can take a look at all new Michigan laws here.